The Corrs

Multi-instrumentalist, award-winning singer songwriter Sharon Corr today releases the first single from her upcoming third studio album: listen to brand new single ‘The Fool and the Scorpion’ HERE. The album, of the same name, is out 24th September and is available to pre-order now.

The new track is a potent depiction of the end of a relationship; a brutally honest yet poetic reflection of life’s imperfections. Written on a plane amidst stormy turbulence, Sharon’s vocals blend beautifully with the rousing piano motif.

Speaking on the new single, Sharon said: I’m sitting in an airplane at the stand in Madrid airport bound for Montreux via Geneva. There’s a terrible storm, thunder and lightning, we cannot take off. I sit in my seat waiting, I am wretched. Torn from the events of the day before, the tears are piercing my skin like icicles. Again I am at one with the elements. Only this time my heart has been shattered into a million fractured pieces, never to return to who I was.

Also announced today were details of Sharon’s third studio album, The Fool and the Scorpion,due to be released on 24th September.

Driven by songwriting greats such as Nick Drake and Joni Mitchell, Sharon drew from a period of time she calls “the biggest storm of her life” for the album’s inspiration. As a result, the record is a cohesive body of work; a journey which centres on the desire to push on, to have faith and belief in yourself and your purpose. The 10-track album was recorded live in just 20 days at The Village in LA, with Larry Klein (Norah Jones, Tracy Chapman, Joni Mitchell) on producing duties and Tim Pierce (Bon Jovi, Celine Dion, Selena Gomez) on guitar. The album’s musicality highlights Sharon’s accomplishments as a multi-instrumentalist with over 30 years of songwriting behind her.

Sharon said: It is my intention that you enjoy listening to the fruits of The Fool and The Scorpion as an entire album. As Albert Camus said: “In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.”

Alongside her siblings, Sharon was awarded an MBE in recognition of The Corrs’ musical success and charitable work. The band also secured two GRAMMY nominations and won countless other awards, including Best International Group at the BRIT Awards. In 2019 Sharon was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Open University in recognition of her contribution to education and culture.

As part of The Corrs, Sharon sold in excess of 45 million albums, toured arenas and stadiums across the globe and became a household name on every continent. With two solo albums under her belt, Sharon has enjoyed the freedom of total artistic expression with beautifully crafted melodies and intimate lyrics at the heart of her songwriting. The Fool and the Scorpion promises to be an example of her storytelling prowess as she invites the listener to share in her joy, her heartache, and everything in between.

The Fool and the Scorpion track listing

  1. The Fool and the Scorpion
  2. Freefall
  3. Lend Me Your Shoulder
  4. A Thousand Lives
  5. Under a Daylight Moon
  6. Running on Rooftops
  7. My Beautiful
  8. Tease Me
  9. The Heart is a Lonely Hunter
  10. Only You